Sri Lanka Premier League
Countries  Sri Lanka
Administrator Sri Lanka Cricket
Format Twenty20
First tournament 2012
Tournament format Round-robin and knockout
Number of teams 7
Current champion Uva Next
Most successful Uva Next (1 title)
Qualification Champions League Twenty20
Most runs Dilshan Munaweera (212)
Most wickets Jacob Oram (15)
      Click on the image below

SLPL has provincial teams to allow an entire province to associate themselves with a team and thus create a bigger following for the tournament. The first edition of the SLPL will include seven teams from sevenprovinces. Aside from Nagenahira and Uthura each of these provinces has had a team playing in the previous Inter-Provincial Twenty20. North Central and SabaragamuwaProvinces will not have teams for the first season. Teams for all the provinces were limited to ensure competitiveness for the future.In 2012 SLC adopted a franchise system, with the teams coming under private ownership instead of the Sri Lankan cricket board. The SLC would have owned all seven teams had the 2011 tournament gone ahead as planned, but the private commercial interest in owning teams has led the board to change its stance.

At auction, the seven SLPL teams fetched an average of US$4.3 million, building on a reserver of $3 million each